Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Meeting Proceedings

September 16, 2024

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Mr. Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Heather Scholz, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on August 12 and the special meeting on August 19, 2024, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Gerber, High School Associate Principal Activities and Athletics, presented out of state and overnight trip requests for High School student organizations and athletic teams for the 2024-2025 school year. He explained that there are some trips that will need to be presented during the school year once information becomes available.

Jorgensen moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the High School out of state and overnight trip requests as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Gerber presented the High School Athletic Co-op renewals for the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 school years. The co-ops are for the Girls Swim Team, Boys Swim Team, and Boys Hockey Team.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the High School Athletic Co-op renewals as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Marshall, District Facilities & Safety Officer, explained that the district received one bid for snow removal and recommended to contract with Griswold Excavating & Construction, LLC for snow removal for the 2024-2025 school year.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to award the snow removal contract for the 2024-2025 school year to Griswold Excavating & Construction, LLC as presented.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No - None.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, reported on the district's cash-flow borrowing needs for 2024-2025. He provided an overview of the different types of short-term debt and reviewed the district's line of credit use. The district did not utilize the line of credit during 2022-2023 or 2023-2024. He explained only one bank responded and recommended accepting National Exchange Bank & Trust's proposal and adoption of a resolution to authorize cash flow borrowing not to exceed \$5,000,000. He reviewed the next steps.

Jorgensen moved, Tyjeski seconded, the board approve a Resolution Authorizing a Taxable Tax and Revenue Anticipation Promissory Note for Cash Flow Purposes in an Amount not to Exceed \$5,000,000 through National Exchange Bank and Trust.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

Mr. Cashman presented two donations for acceptance. WalMart Distribution donated furnishings along with other supplies that will be used in each school. Graber Manufacturing donated two bike racks to be installed at Jefferson Elementary School. He recommended approval of receipt of the donations and the administration be authorized to use the supplies throughout the district and the bike racks to be used at Jefferson Elementary.

Tyjeski moved, Dornfeld seconded, to approve the donations as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve announced that the Operations Committee and Teaching and Learning Committee did not meet since the last board meeting. The next meeting is scheduled for September 23.

Mr. Prieve asked Mr. Kraus to provide a recap of the board workshop on August 19 since he was unable to attend. Board members shared their perspectives from the District Strategic Actions and School Success Plans that were discussed.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in since the last board meeting.

Board members recognized FFA Students who helped at Second Harvest Mobile Food Pantry and thanked WalMart for their donation and the parent from Jefferson Elementary who was involved with the donation of the bike racks.

Mr. DiStefano thanked community members participating in the community info sessions and being engaged, principals and staff for a great start to the school year, and he recognized the late Bill McCollum for all he did for the schools.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignations: Daniel Aumann-Physical Education Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School and Yvonne Davidson-Science Teacher-Middle School.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Rebecca Anderson-Special Education Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 1/2/25-4/14/25); Dustan Baldassari-Health Teacher-High School (Family Medical Leave 3/24/25-4/18/25); Megan Kaul-Psychologist-Elementary Schools (Medical Leave 3/24/25—end of the 2024-25 school year); Madison Martinez-ELL Teacher-Middle School (Medical Leave 12/9/24-3/24/25); Katie Nell-Art Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 9/6/24-9/20/24); and Brad Westergaard-Music Teacher-Middle School (Leave of Absence 8/27/24-TBD).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Kurt Breier-Science Teacher-High School; Brandi Browkowski-Durow-Substitute Teacher-Middle School (LTE 2024-25 School Year); Kristie Ely-Music Teacher-Middle School (LTS 8/22/24-11/4/24); Amy Friedl-English Teacher-High School (LTE 1st semester 2024-25 school year); Todd Karsten-Science Teacher-Middle School; Jennifer Monthie-English Language Arts Teacher-High School; Mike Price-Special Education Teacher-Middle School; and Amber Sandstrom- Physical Education Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Mr. DiStefano presented board policy revisions recommended by NEOLA for final reading.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to adopt the board policy updates as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #582, #583, #584, #585, #586, and #587) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Manual Check, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, American Funds, Ameriprise, AXA, AXA Roth, Fidelity, Franklin, Health Savings Account, Met Life, Sec Benefit Life, Thrivent, WEA TSA, Wisconsin Retirement System, Payroll Related Voucher, and District Insurances for a total of \$3,773,999.00. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Scholz, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Kuntz moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:13 p.m.

/s/
Chad Prieve, President
/s/
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk